Tuesday, April 16, 2024
HomeAssociationsAISC seeks nominations for 2018 T.R. Higgins Lectureship Award

AISC seeks nominations for 2018 T.R. Higgins Lectureship Award

Nominations are now being accepted for the T.R. Higgins Lectureship Award, which includes a $15,000 cash prize. Presented annually by the American Institute of Steel Construction (AISC), the award recognizes a lecturer-author whose technical paper (or papers) is considered an outstanding contribution to engineering literature on fabricated structural steel.

The winner will be recognized at the 2018 NASCC: The Steel Conference, April 11-13 in Baltimore, Md., and also will present their lecture, upon request, at various professional association events throughout the year.

The award will be given to a nominated individual based on their reputation as a lecturer and the jury’s evaluation of the paper(s) named in the nomination. Papers will be judged for originality, clarity of presentation, contribution to engineering knowledge, future significance and value to the fabricated structural steel industry.

Nominations must be submitted by August 1, 2017. For the full nomination requirements and more information about the award, please visit www.aisc.org/higgins. For questions please contact Janet Cummins, AISC’s engineering and research coordinator, at cummins@aisc.org.

The current T.R. Higgins Lecturer is Todd A. Helwig, PhD, professor of civil engineering at the University of Texas at Austin. He was honored for his paper, “Stiffness Behavior of Cross Frames in Steel Bridge Systems,” and other papers related to stability bracing. If your organization is interested in hosting a T.R. Higgins lecture, please contact Nancy Gavlin, SE, AISC’s director of education, at gavlin@aisc.org.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments